CitizensNet BannerCitizensNet Banner

May 31, 2016

City of Houston Issues Call for Artists for Southwest Police Station Project

The City of Houston is seeking an artist or artist team to develop sculpture for a new Civic Art project.

The new Houston Police Department (HPD) Southwest Police Station is a 50,000 square foot facility being built at 13000 Nitida Street in Southwest Houston. The site for the sculpture is the exterior space at the corner of Brookston and Nitida. The goals of the project are to create a world class artwork that reflects Houston's diversity and the values and principles that guide the Houston Police Department.

The deadline for submission of qualifications is June 20th, 2016.

The City of Houston's General Service Department is contracting with the Houston Arts Alliance to administer the artist selection and project management.

In 1999, the City of Houston established an ordinance mandating that 1.75% of qualified Capital Improvement Project monies be set aside for civic art.  The program is managed by the Mayor's Office of Cultural Affairs.

For more about the project and full detail on the Request for Qualifications, please visit:
Follow us on Facebook

Register for CitizensNet

Add to your address book to ensure proper delivery of CitizensNet emails and to prevent spam filters from blocking the emails. Follow these instructions.

Change your email address or Update your record

View CitizensNet Archive

Go to for information about City of Houston activities/events.

Fan Us, Mayor's Facebook Fan Us, Mayor's FacebookFollow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TwitterWatch us On YouTube Watch Us on YouTube

Disclaimer: All information, excluding your email address, is generally subject to public disclosure
under the Texas Public Information Act (See Chapter 552 of the Texas Government Code).

Thank you for your interest in CitizensNet.
Mailing Address:  City of Houston | P.O. Box 1562 | Houston, Texas 77251
City Hall Address:  City of Houston | 901 Bagby | Houston, Texas 77002

Unsubscribe from CitizensNet

Council Members: Brenda Stardig • Jerry Davis • Ellen R. Cohen • Dwight A. Boykins • Dave Martin •
Steve Le • Greg Travis • Karla Cisneros • Robert Gallegos• Mike Laster• Larry V. Green •
Mike Knox • David W. Robinson • Michael Kubosh • Amanda Edwards • Jack Christie
Controller: Chris Brown