CitizensNet Banner

October 31, 2014

City of Houston Department of Public Works and Engineering
Completes Water Quality Maintenance Flushing

On October 31, 2014, the City of Houston Drinking Water Operations completed system maintenance in the Southeast Water Purification Plant service area, and resumed the use of chloramines (chlorine with ammonia) for disinfection treatment.

As stated in the notice issued on September 15, 2014, water quality maintenance was scheduled from September 29 through the end of October 2014.  During this period, the system performed increased flushing at fire hydrants, and the disinfectant scheme was temporarily changed from chloramines to free chlorine (chlorine without ammonia).

As the area returns to normal operations, users of kidney dialysis machines, owners of tropical fish aquariums and managers of stores and restaurants with fish and shellfish holding tanks are encouraged to resume operating practices in place before this maintenance activity began.  Areas affected include the zip codes: 77034, 77058, 77059, 77062, 77075, 77089, 77504, 77546,and 77598.

If you have questions or would like additional information, please call 311 or email

Register for CitizensNet

Add to your address book to ensure proper delivery of CitizensNet emails and to prevent spam filters from blocking the emails. Follow these instructions.

Change your email address or Update your record

View CitizensNet Archive

Go to for information about City of Houston activities/events.

Fan Us, Mayor's Facebook Fan Us, Mayor's FacebookFollow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TwitterWatch us On YouTube Watch Us on YouTube

Disclaimer: All information, excluding your email address, is generally subject to public disclosure
under the Texas Public Information Act (See Chapter 552 of the Texas Government Code).

Thank you for your interest in CitizensNet.
Mailing Address:  City of Houston | P.O. Box 1562 | Houston, Texas 77251
City Hall Address:  City of Houston | 901 Bagby | Houston, Texas 77002

Unsubscribe from CitizensNet

Council Members: Brenda Stardig • Jerry Davis • Ellen R. Cohen • Dwight A. Boykins • Dave Martin •
Richard Nguyen • Oliver Pennington • Edward Gonzalez • Robert Gallegos •
Mike Laster • Larry V. Green • Stephen C. Costello • David W. Robinson •
Michael Kubosh • C.O. “Brad” Bradford • Jack Christie
Controller: Ronald C. Green