Houston Municipal Art

News and Press Releases


council confirms municipal art commissioners



July 29, 2004 -- At its Wednesday, July 28, 2004 session, Houston City Council confirmed the appointments of 10 commissioners to serve on the Municipal Art Commission Board of Directors.


The commissioners are: Reginald C. Adams, reappointment to Position One; Floyd E. Newsum, appointment to Position Two; Artie Lee Hinds, reappointment to Position Three; Sarah Cortez, appointment to Position Four; David W. Robinson, appointment to Position Five; Jane A. Curtis, appointment to Position Six; Gus Kopriva, appointment to Position Seven; Emile S. Kilgore, reappointment to Position Eight; Shunney H. Nair, reappointment to Position Nine; and, John C. Moriniere, appointment to Position Fifteen.


The appointments are slated to expire Jan. 1, 2006, with the exception of John C. Moriniere, who was appointed to finish out a previous commissioner’s unexpired term that expires Jan. 1. 2005.


The Municipal Art Commission (MAC) was established by city ordinance in 1965 and is responsible for advising the city’s elected officials on matters pertaining to the overall aesthetic development of the city of Houston. MAC is the official custodian of the city’s art collection, visible in such facilities as city parks, libraries and multi-service centers, to name a few. Works of art include murals, paintings, sculptures, monuments, statues, stained glass, arches and other permanent structures.


The Municipal Art Office (MAO), located in the General Services Department, provides administrative assistance to MAC under the direction of coordinator Pamela Ingersoll. The Art Office handles art conservation on behalf of the city departments in whose facilities the art exists. For example, MAO might maintain a statue located in a city park, but conservation expenses would be funded by the Parks & Recreation Department. Funding exceptions include grants MAO occasionally receives for such purposes.