
 
                     

SCHEDULE OF FINES 
(Effective JULY 2011) 

 
Fine amounts include all Court costs as mandated by  the State legislature.  

FINE AMOUNTS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE 
 

For Fine Amounts not listed:  
Please call- 311 / (713) 837-0311 
 
For the Hearing Impaired:  
Please call- (713) 247-8591 for Telecommunication D evice for the Deaf (TDD) access  
 
 
SPEEDING VIOLATIONS:  

 

M.P.H. OVER LIMIT SPEEDING: 
POSTED ZONE 

SPEEDING: 
SCHOOL ZONE 

SPEEDING: 
CONSTRUCTION ZONE 

(workers present) 

1      -      5   m.p.h. $190 $220 $235 

6      -      9   m.p.h. $200 $240 $260 

10    -     14  m.p.h. $225 $255 $295 

15    -     19  m.p.h. $250 $275 $380 

20    -     29  m.p.h. $275 $300 $430 

30 or more  m.p.h. $300 $325 $500 

 
VIOLATIONS WITH NO ACCIDENT INVOLVED:  

 

VIOLATION TOTAL WINDOW FINE 

Running a Red Light or a Stop Sign $235 

Failure to Obey Must Turn Sign/Signal $180 

Failure to Obey Traffic Control Device $200 

Change Lanes Not in Safety $195 

Driving at Night Without Lights $185 

HOV Lane Violations $175 

No Registration Receipt for Commercial Truck/Traile r $155 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 
 
 
SEAT BELT VIOLATIONS:  
 

VIOLATION TOTAL WINDOW FINE 

Seat Belt- Adult $150 

Seat Belt- Adult (Commercial Vehicle) $210 

Seat Belt- Child/Safety Seat (1 st Offense)  $125 

Seat Belt- Child/Safety Seat (2 nd/Subsequent Offenses) $225 

 
 
ACCIDENT VIOLATIONS:  
 

All Moving Violations with Accident $275 

 
 
MISCELLANEOUS  VIOLATIONS:  
 

VIOLATION TOTAL WINDOW FINE 

Open Container of Alcohol in Motor Vehicle $270 

Misdemeanor Theft $305 

Public Intoxication $260 

Consumption of Alcohol on Unlicensed Premises $225 

Possession of Fireworks $817 

No Dog License $110 

Failure to Vaccinate Dog/Cat $110 

Failure to Appear in Court $230 

 



 
VIOLATIONS  THAT MAY BE DISMISSED WITH PROOF OF COM PLIANCE:  
 

VIOLATION TOTAL WINDOW FINE 

No Drivers License (includes no motorcycle endorsem ent) $215 

No Vehicle Inspection Sticker (n/a for commercial v ehicle) $130 

No Vehicle Registration (n/a for commercial vehicle ) $130 

Failure to Change Address on Drivers License $105 

Defective Equipment Violations (n/a for commercial vehicle) $130 

Driver’s License Restriction Code Violation $217 

No Auto Liability Insurance (1 st Offense) $275 

No Auto Liability Insurance (2 nd/Subsequent Offenses) ** $470 

 
** A second or subsequent conviction of an offense und er the Texas Motor Vehicle Safety 

Responsibility Act will result in the suspension of  your Driver’s License and denial of 
automobile registration unless you file and maintai n proof of financial responsibility with the 
Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) for two yea rs from the date of conviction. DPS may 
waive the requirement to file proof of financial re sponsibility if you file satisfactory evidence 
with DPS reflecting that at the time the citation w as issued, the vehicle was covered by a 
liability insurance policy of that you were otherwi se exempt from the requirement to provide 
evidence of financial responsibility. 

 
 

POINTS ASSESSED: 
A conviction of an offense under a traffic law of t his State or a political subdivision of this State 
may result in the assessment of a surcharge on your  driver’s license under the Driver 
Responsibility Program. 

VIOLATION POINTS ASSESSED (per event)  

Speeding- 10% or More Over the Speed Limit 2 points  

Speeding in a School Zone 2 points 

Moving Violation (Non-Accident): 

      * State Law Violation 

      * Ordinance Violation 

 

2 points 

0 points 

Moving Violation (Accident) 3 points 

Safety Belt Violation (Non CDL) 0 points 

Driver’s License Restriction Violations 2 points 

Open Container (Driver) 2 points 

 
 
 



 
 
DPS SURCHARGES**:  
  

VIOLATION SURCHARGES ASSESSED 

Failure to Establish Financial Responsibility $250/ year x 3 years 

No Valid Driver’s License $100/year x 3 years 

Too Many Points  
(6 points or more in 36 month period) 

$100 + $25 
(for each point above 6) 

 
** Failure to pay surcharge(s) or failure to timely  enter into an installment payment agreement will 

result in SUSPENSION of your Driver’s License until  you pay the surcharge(s) and any related 
costs. 


