Permits and Forms for Businesses
The Houston Fire Department's Permit Office is located at 1002 Washington, Houston, Texas 77007 and may be reached during normal business hours at 832-394-8811
*Some of the links listed below are .pdf files and require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader for viewing
For additional information please contact the Fire Marshals at 832-394-6900.
Apparatus Access / Control Gates
Carnival / Fair / Exhibitions
Cellulose Nitrate Film use or storage
Combustible Dust Producing Operations
Covered Mall Buildings
Dry Cleaning Plants
Explosives / Fireworks / Pyrotechnics
Fire Alarms (Installation Permit Only)
Fire depository, Key Boxes
Flammable and Combustible Liquids
Fruit & Crop Ripening
Fumigation & thermal Insecticidal Fogging
High Piled Storage
Hot Work Operations
Lumber Yards & Woodworking Plants
Liquid or Gas Fueled Vehicles or Equipment in Assembly Buildings
LP - Gas
Misc. Combustible Storage
Open Flames and Candles
Places of Assembly
Motor Vehicle Fuel-Dispensing Stations
Spraying or Dipping
Storage of Scrap Tires & Tire Byproducts
Temporary Membrane Structures, Tents & Canopies
Asphalt Kettles & Roof Torching Operations
|Fire Alarms and Sprinkler Systems|
|False Fire Alarms|
The City desires to reduce the number of false fire alarm notifications by encouraging the proper design, installation, operation and maintenance of the alarm systems. An annual Fire Alarm Permit and False Fire Alarm Fees were enacted July 1, 2002.
Classification of Alarm System:
Group A- an alarm system with no more than 10 alarm actuating devices.
Group B- an alarm system with not less than 11 or more than 100 alarm actuating devices; and
Group C- an alarm system with 101 or more alarm actuating devices.
False Response Fire Alarm Fees:
$360.00 for each false fire alarm response by the fire department in excess of the following, during each permit period:
Group A- five false fire alarms
Group B- fifteen false fire alarms
Group C- thirty false fire alarms
A notice of each false alarm shall be mailed to the permit holder, or person in control if there is no valid permit. Fees are due within thirty days following the date that the city places the false alarm confirmation notice in the mail, unless a hearing has been requested. If not paid within 60 days, a 30 % penalty is assessed.
If the permit holder, or the person in control if there is no valid alarm permit, may request a hearing within 30 days following the date that the city places the false alarm confirmation notice in the mail. The sole purpose of the hearing is to ascertain whether or not the disputed alarm was false. The requests for hearing shall specify facts and have documents and records attached that prove the alarm was not false.
Violations: When an act is prohibited or is made or declared to be unlawful or an offense or misdemeanor or the doing of any act is required or the failure to do anything or act is prohibited the violation of the provision shall be and constitute a misdemeanor punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not less that $250 nor more than $2000. Each violation shall constitute and be punishable as a separate offense.
In addition to prohibiting or requiring certain conduct of individuals, it is the intent to also hold a corporation, partnership, association, limited partnership, limited liability corporation or other such entity criminally responsible for acts or omissions performed by an agent acting on its behalf.
Revocation of permit:
Failure to make payment in full to the city of any fees due within 30 days of the date the city has mailed a notice to the permit holder that the fees are due and owing or within 15 days following the date of mailing of the decision notice where an appeal has been timely filed; or
The permit holder accrues more that twice the number of false fire alarms for the applicable group during the permit period; or
Or the existence of any fact or circumstances that would be a basis for denial of an application for issuance or renewal of a permit, or the permit was otherwise obtained or issued in error.
APPEALS: A person may appeal the denial or revocation of a permit by delivering a written request for an appeal to the Fire Chief (1002 Washington, Houston, TX 77007) not more than 15 days after the first d ate of mailing written notice of denial or revocation. The notice of denial or revocation shall be sent to the permit holder or applicant by certified mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the permit holder or applicant at the alarm site address, or to such other address specified by them in writing to the fire department.
Forms for application purposes
Tier2 Submit for the Current Calendar Year is now available for free download through the Texas Department of State Health Services Tier II Chemical Reporting Program Website at http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/tiertwo/
The Houston Fire Department will only accept electronic TIER II Reports by email to: email@example.com