

CITY OF HOUSTON _

Sylvester Turner

Legal Department

Mayor

Arturo G. Michel City Attorney Legal Department P.O. Box 368 Houston, Texas 77001-0368 City Hall Annex 900 Bagby, 4th Floor Houston, Texas 77002

832.393.6491 - Telephone 832.393.6259 - Facsimile www.houstontx.gov

March 22, 2023

The Honorable DeWayne Burns House Committee on Land & Resource Management P.O. Box 2910 Austin, Texas 78768

Dear Chairman Burns and Members of the Committee:

On behalf of the City of Houston, I write in opposition to House Bill 1526 and ask that this written testimony be included in the formal legislative record for HB 1526. The City and I thank the Committee and Chairman for the opportunity to comment regarding this proposed legislation.

The City of Houston works with its developers on this parkland dedication to ensure that in fact, every person across the City of Houston, no matter area, income level, or housing, will have access to greenspace in their neighborhood.

Houston's current method of calculating the amount of land to be dedicated or the fee in lieu of dedication is simple and has been effective. Since the program was adopted in 2013, developers can easily determine the amount of land required to be dedicated or choose to pay a flat rate of \$700 per dwelling unit, a tiny fraction of the cost of most land in Houston.

If this bill were to pass as filed, the City of Houston under its current ordinance would receive \$7 per dwelling unit in a single-family home, \$3.50 per dwelling unit in a multi-family development, and \$2.80 in any hotel/motel development. Meaning that if a 200-single-family-home development came to the City of Houston, the city would only receive \$1,400 to purchase land near that development and develop that land into a useable park for those new Houstonians.

For these reasons, the City of Houston recommends the inclusion the option to charge a flat rate if that rate is well under the amount allowed using the proposed calculation.

Thank you for your consideration and sincerely,

/s/Jennifer Ostlind
Jennifer Ostlind, AICP
Deputy Director
City of Houston Planning and Development
Department

Council Members: Amy Peck Tarsha Jackson Abbie Kamin Carolyn Evans-Shabazz Dave Martin Tiffany Thomas Greg Travis Karla Cisneros Robert Gallegos Edward Pollard Martha Castex-Tatum Mike Knox David W. Robinson Michael Kubosh Letitia Plummer Sallie Alcorn