

### **CITY OF HOUSTON**

#### Planning & Development Department

#### **Sylvester Turner**

Mayor

Margaret Wallace Brown Director P.O. Box 1562 Houston, Texas 77251-1562

T. 832.393.6600 F. 832.393.6661 www.houstontx.gov

April 5, 2023

Honorable DeWayne Burns Chairman, House Land and Resource Management Committee Room E2.604 P.O. Box 2910 Austin, TX 78768

## RE: House Bill 1307 relating to municipal release of extraterritorial jurisdiction and disannexation involving certain areas

Dear Chairman Burns:

On behalf of the City of Houston, I write in opposition to House Bill 1307 and ask that written testimony be included in the formal legislative record for HB 1307. The City and I thank the committee and Chairman for the opportunity to comment regarding this proposed legislation.

HB 1307 would require cities to release territory from their ETJ or disannex territory from their full purpose city boundary if a majority of the registered voters in the area in question petition the city to do so. The area would have to be one in which the city has jurisdiction but has not yet provided full city services to an area.

The City of Houston opposes this bill because it could result in the removal of territory from our city limits without our consent. This could have a negative effect on long range planning efforts including transportation projects.

In our experience, several property owners enjoy the protection that comes with being in the City of Houston's ETJ. They do not wish to become a part of any other municipality. The effect of this bill would leave them vulnerable to that possibility. This bill would also allow registered voters to determine the jurisdiction of property in their area even if they don't own any property in the area. A property owner who resides elsewhere and is thus not a registered voter in the area would be subject to the whim of others and have no say in determining the jurisdiction of his property.

Thank you for your consideration. We look forward to working with you through the duration of this legislative session.

Sincerely,

### Nicole Smothers

Nicole Broussard Smothers Deputy Assistant Director City of Houston, Planning and Development 611 Walker St. Houston, TX 77001

Council Members: Amy Peck Tarsha Jackson Abbie Kamin Carolyn Evans-Shabazz Dave Martin Tiffany D. Thomas Mary Nan Huffman Karla Cisneros Robert Gallegos Edward Pollard Martha Castex-Tatum Mike Knox David W. Robinson Michael Kubosh Letitia Plummer Sallie Alcorn Controller: Chris Brown

# $\frac{Nicole.Smothers@houstontx.gov}{832-393-6580}$