

CITY OF HOUSTON

Planning & Development Department

Sylvester Turner

Mayor

Margaret Wallace Brown Director P.O. Box 1562 Houston, Texas 77251-1562

T. 832.393.6600 F. 832.393.6661 www.houstontx.gov

May 16, 2023

The Honorable DeWayne Burns Chairman, House Committee on Land and Resource Management P.O. Box 2910 Austin, Texas 78768

Dear Chairman Burns:

On behalf of the City of Houston, I write in opposition to Senate Bill 2037 and ask that this written testimony be included in the formal legislative record for SB 2037. The City and I thank the Committee and Chairman for the opportunity to comment regarding this proposed legislation.

SB 2037 involves amending Section 212.003 to further limit a municipality's authority in their extraterritorial jurisdiction. We appreciate that the amended version retains a municipality's ability to require access to public roads. We remain concerned about the following:

• Adding 212.003(a)(6) to specify that municipalities cannot regulate sizes, dimensions, frontages, setbacks or other components of lot density. Subdivision lot standards ensure new developments have adequate access to streets, access for emergency personnel, setbacks to allow space for infrastructure such as water meters, and green space, all of which are particularly important to community members. Every two weeks the Houston Planning Commission hears comments from ETJ residents in opposition to proposals for high-density, single-family developments. Also, removing a density restriction, without corresponding changes to the public street dedication requirements, would hinder the City's ability to ensure safe and orderly traffic circulation and access. There would be too many units with too few streets to accommodate the increased traffic burden.

Thank you for your consideration. We look forward to working with you through the duration of this legislative session.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Ostlind

Jennifer Ostlind, AICP
Deputy Director
City of Houston, Planning and Development Department
611 Walker St.
Houston, TX 77002
Jennifer.Ostlind@houstontx.gov
832-393-6569

Council Members: Amy Peck Tarsha Jackson Abbie Kamin Carolyn Evans-Shabazz Dave Martin Tiffany D. Thomas Mary Nan Huffman Karla Cisneros Robert Gallegos Edward Pollard Martha Castex-Tatum Mike Knox David W. Robinson Michael Kubosh Letitia Plummer Sallie Alcorn Controller: Chris Brown