
SUMMARY OF AIR POLLUTION FEES 
HOUSTON CODE 

Article VI. Chapter 21 – Health 
Division 2, Source Registration 

Sec. 21-166. Registration Fees 
 
New Fee Schedule – Effective January 01, 2015 applies to: 
  
 Existing registrations beginning January, 2015, upon annual renewal during renewal month 

Administrative Fee:         $27.52 
 
Facilities Affected by the New Fees: 
  
 1) Automotive body repair shops (PBS)     $577.98 
  

2) Gasoline dispensing sites  (GAS) 
1-6 gasoline pump nozzles, per nozzle    $302.75 
7 or more gasoline pump nozzles, per nozzle    $577.98 

 
3) Dry cleaning plants  (DCL) 

Fewer than 6 employees      $137.61 
6 to 10 employees       $247.70 
11 or more employees       $302.75 

 
4) Used vehicles sales lots  (ADL) 

1-5 vehicles        NC+$27.52 
6-100 vehicles        $302.75 
101 or more vehicles       $412.84 

 
 5) Dual chambered incinerators (INC)     $412.84 
 
 6) Pathological waste incinerators  (INC)    $853.21 
 

7) Sewage treatment plants, based upon design capacity in gallons per day: (WAT) 
Less than 500,000       $577.98 
500,001 to 9,999,999       $1348.62 
10,000,000 to 39,999,999      $2229.36 
40,000,000 or more       $2779.82 

 
 8) Other facilities1 based upon annual airborne contaminants2 emissions: (EXT) 
   1-4 tons        $688.07 
   5-9 tons        $1348.62 
   10 tons or more       $3330.28 

                                                 
1 The definition of facility was changed so that fees are paid by most sources of air pollution in the City.  A facility, as defined 
in the Texas Clean Air Act, is the equipment that is the source of the air pollution emissions.  A plant site or business may have 
more than one facility which is the source of emissions.  The complete definition is found at Section 382.003 (6) of the Texas 
Safety Health and Safety Code.  If the plant site has multiple facilities emitting one ton or more, fees are applied as follows: 

A) A registration fee is required for each facility at the same plant site 
B) A registration fee is assessed for each facility with the most contaminants based on tons, for up to 4 facilities 

at the same plant site, and a maximum of $13,238.56 in combined fees which include a $27.52 administrative 
fee. 

 
2 In the Texas Clean Air Act, an air contaminant is almost anything that is emitted into the air, except something that comes 
from a natural process.  The complete definition is found at Section 382.003 (2) of the Texas Health and Safety Code. 


