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Dear Parents of Students in Texas Schools, Kindergarten through lih Grades: 

Immunizations are an important part of protecting your child's, your family's, and your 
community's health, and state law requires students in Texas schools to be immunized against 
certain vaccine-preventable diseases. The Department of State Health Services (DSHS) 
understands that it can be difficult to get your children vaccinated before the school year begins. 
We would like to stress the importance of getting these required vaccines at the earliest possible 
time, to avoid the back-to-school immunization rush. 

Due to a recent policy change, effective January 1, 2012local health departments and health 
service regional clinics may not vaccinate insured children using TVFC vaccine. This means 
that a person with health insurance who has previously been vaccinated in a local health 
department or health service regional clinic may be referred back to his or her doctor , if the 
public health clinic does not carry private stock vaccine. Please call your doctor now to set up an 
appointment if needed. Please be aware that students without the proper documentation of 
the required vaccinations or a valid exemption will not be allowed to attend school. 

To determine the specific vaccines that will be required for your child, please read the document 
included with this letter. This document and more information about required vaccines for 
school are available on the DSHS Immunization Branch website at www.ImmunizeTexas.com. If 
you need help determining your child's vaccine requirements for the 2012-2013 school year, 
please contact your child's doctor. 

If you have questions or need additional information, you may call the Immunization Branch 
Customer Service number (800) 252-9152. 

Assistant Commissioner 
Division for Prevention and Preparedness Services 

Enclosure 

An Equal Opportunity Employer and Provider 



2012-2013 Texas Minimum State Vaccine Requirements for Students Grades K-12 
 

This chart summarizes the vaccine requirements incorporated in the Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 25 Health Services, Sections 97.61 to  
97.72. This chart is not intended as a substitute for consulting the TAC, which has other provisions and details.  Click here for complete TAC language. 
 

The Department of State Health Services (DSHS) is granted authority to set immunization requirements by the Texas Education Code, Chapter 38, Health & Safety, 
Subchapter A, General Provisions. 
 

 

IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS 
 

A student shall show acceptable evidence of vaccination prior to entry, attendance, or transfer to a child-care facility 
or public or private elementary or secondary school in Texas. 

 

Vaccine Required  
(Attention to notes and footnotes) 

Minimum Number of Doses Required by Grade Level 
NOTES 

K - 3rd  4th- 6th  7th 8th  - 10th 11th - 12th  

Diphtheria/Tetanus/Pertussis 
(DTaP/DTP/DT/Td/Tdap)1 

5 doses or 
4 doses 

 
 
 
 

5 doses or 
4 doses 

3 dose 
primary 

series and 
1 Tdap/Td 

booster 
within last 

5 years  

 
 

3 dose primary series 
and 1 Tdap/Td booster 

within last 10 years 
 
 
 

5 doses of diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis vaccine; one dose must have been 
received on or after the 4th birthday. However, 4 doses meet the 
requirement if the 4th dose was received on or after the 4th birthday. For 
students aged 7 years and older, 3 doses meet the requirement if one dose 
was received on or after the 4th birthday.  
For 7th grade: 1 dose of Tdap is required if at least 5 years have passed 
since the last dose of tetanus- containing vaccine.  
For 8th- 12th grade: 1 dose of Tdap is required when 10 years have passed 
since the last dose of tetanus-containing vaccine. Td is acceptable in place 
of Tdap if a medical contraindication to pertussis exists. 

Polio1 4 doses or 
3 doses 

4 doses or 
3 doses 

4 doses or 
3 doses 

4 doses or 
3 doses 

4 doses or 
3 doses 

4 doses of polio; one dose must be received on or after the 4th birthday. 
However, 3 doses meet the requirement if the 3rd dose was received on or 
after the 4th birthday. 

Measles, Mumps, and Rubella1,2 
(MMR) 2 doses  2 doses 2 doses 

 2 doses 
The first dose of MMR must be received on or after the 1st birthday.  
For K - 3rd grade, 2 doses of MMR are required.  
For 4th - 12th grade, 2 doses of a measles-containing vaccine, and one 
dose each of rubella and mumps vaccine is required.  

Hepatitis B2 3 doses  3 doses 3 doses 3 doses 3 doses 
For students aged 11-15 years, 2 doses meet the requirement if adult 
hepatitis B vaccine (Recombivax) was received. Dosage and type of 
vaccine must be clearly documented. (Two 10 mcg/1.0 ml of Recombivax). 

Varicella1,2,3 2 doses 1 dose 2 doses 1 dose 

The first dose of varicella must be received on or after the first birthday.  
For grades K – 3rd and 7th - 10th 2 doses are required.  
1 dose is required for all other grade levels.  
For any student who receives the first dose on or after 13 years of age, 2 
doses are required. 

Meningococcal   1 dose   

Hepatitis A1,2 2 doses     The first dose of hepatitis A must be received on or after the first birthday. 

1 Receipt of the dose up to (and including) 4 days before the birthday will satisfy the school entry immunization requirement. 
2 Serologic confirmation of immunity to measles, mumps, rubella, hepatitis B, hepatitis A, or varicella or serologic evidence of infection is acceptable in place of vaccine.   
3 Previous illness may be documented with a written statement from a physician, school nurse, or the child's parent or guardian containing wording such as: "This is to verify that (name of student) had varicella disease 
(chickenpox) on or about (date) and does not need varicella vaccine."  This written statement will be acceptable in place of any and all varicella vaccine doses required. 



Exemptions 
The law allows (a) physicians to write a statement stating that the vaccine(s) required would be medically harmful or injurious to the health and well-being of the 
child or household member, and (b) parents/guardians to choose an exemption from immunization requirements for reasons of conscience, including a religious 
belief.  The law does not allow parents/guardians to elect an exemption simply because of inconvenience (for example, a record is lost or incomplete and it is too 
much trouble to go to a physician or clinic to correct the problem). Schools and child-care facilities should maintain an up-to-date list of students with exemptions, 
so they may be excluded in times of emergency or epidemic declared by the commissioner of public health. 
 
Instructions for requesting the official exemption affidavit that must be signed by parents/guardians choosing the exemption for reasons of conscience, 
including a religious belief, can be found at www.ImmunizeTexas.com.  Original Exemption Affidavit must be completed and submitted to the school or 
child-care facility.  
 
For children claiming medical exemptions, a written statement by the physician must be submitted to the school or child-care facility.  
 
Provisional Enrollment 
 
All immunizations should be completed by the first date of attendance. The law requires that students be fully vaccinated against the specified diseases. A student 
may be enrolled provisionally if the student has an immunization record that indicates the student has received at least one dose of each specified age-appropriate 
vaccine required by this rule. To remain enrolled, the student must complete the required subsequent doses in each vaccine series on schedule and as rapidly as is 
medically feasible and provide acceptable evidence of vaccination to the school. A school nurse or school administrator shall review the immunization status of a 
provisionally enrolled student every 30 days to ensure continued compliance in completing the required doses of vaccination. If, at the end of the 30-day period, a 
student has not received a subsequent dose of vaccine, the student is not in compliance and the school shall exclude the student from school attendance until the 
required dose is administered. 
 
Documentation 
 
Since many types of personal immunization records are in use, any document will be acceptable provided a physician or public health personnel has validated it. 
The month, day, and year that the vaccination was received must be recorded on all school immunization records created or updated after September 1, 1991. 
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