CaPS Program



City Accreditation Program for Supervisors image

City Accreditation Program for Supervisors

CAPS is our middle management multi-track program consisting of eighteen sessions designed to assist supervisor competencies in managing various circumstances regarding employee workday considerations and performances.

CAPS Thursday Track 1 (January - October 2018)

  • The first track starts on January 18 and runs through May 17, 2018.
  • The CAPS graduation is on October 19, 2018.

CAPS Thursday Track 2 (June - October 2018)

  • The first track starts on June 7 and runs through October 11, 2018.

CAPS Calendar 2018 - Track 2

Session Course Date Time
1 How the City Operates/ Safety/Workers’ Compensation Thursday, Jun 7, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
2 City Discipline Process Thursday, June 14, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
3 HR Policy Overview – Part I Thursday, June 21, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
4 Ethics Thursday, June 28, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
5 Resource Management Thursday, July 12, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
6 HR Policy Overview – Part II Thursday, July 19, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
7 Time Management Thursday, July 26, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
8 Leadership/ Emotional Intelligence Thursday, August 2, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
9 Coaching Thursday, August 9, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
10 Leadership Communication Thursday, August 16, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
11 Social Awareness/Workplace Civility Thursday, August 23, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
12 Conflict Resolution Thursday, August 30, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
13 Building a High Performance Team Thursday, September 6, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
14 Delegation Thursday, September 13, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
15 Change Management Thursday, September 20, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
16 Motivation Thursday, September 27, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
17 Problem Solving/Decision Making Thursday, October 4, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
18 Team Session Review Thursday, October 11, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

CAPS Calendar 2018 - Track 1

Session Course Date Time
1 How the City Operates/ Safety/Workers’ Compensation Thursday, January 18, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
2 City Discipline Process Thursday, January 25, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
3 HR Policy Overview – Part I Thursday, February 1, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
4 Ethics Thursday, February 8, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
5 Resource Management Thursday, February 15, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
6 HR Policy Overview – Part II Thursday, February 22, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
7 Time Management Thursday, March 1, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
8 Leadership/ Emotional Intelligence Thursday, March 8, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
9 Coaching Thursday, March 15, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
10 Leadership Communication Thursday, March 22, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
11 Social Awareness/Workplace Civility Thursday, March 29, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
12 Conflict Resolution Thursday, April 5, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
13 Building a High Performance Team Thursday, April 12, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
14 Delegation Thursday, April 19, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
15 Change Management Thursday, April 26, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
16 Motivation Thursday, May 3, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
17 Problem Solving/Decision Making Thursday, May 10, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
18 Team Session Review Thursday, May 17, 2018 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Contact Information: Learning and Development Center | 4501 Leeland Street | Houston, TX 77023 | Phone: 832-395-4900 | Fax: 832-395-4892 | Hours of Operation: Mon-Fri: 6:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.