DHTML Tree Menu skip to content




HPD Creates New Division and Realigns Captains

August 23, 2006 -- In an effort to better address the needs of the community, the Houston Police Department will create a new police patrol division, the Uptown Division, encompassing police District 18. The goal is to enhance police service
delivery by dividing the largest patrol division into two more manageable divisions.

The boundaries of the new Uptown District are the Interstate 10 (Katy Freeway) and Buffalo Bayou to the north, Interstate 610 to the east, U.S 59 (Southwest Freeway) to the south and Fondren/ Gessner / Hillcroft/ Voss to the west (see attached map).

The Houston Police Department will also reassign various captains in anticipation of the promotion of three Lieutenants to the rank of Captain of Police.

Those assignments will take effect on Saturday, September 9, 2006.

  • Captain Duanne T. Runyan will move from Night Commander to the Traffic Division.
  • Captain Mary Lentschke will transfer from the Special Operations Division to the Training Division.
  • Captain Michael H. Luiz will move from the Traffic Division to the Eastside Division.
  • Acting Captain Gregory J. Fremin will take over the Special Operations Division.
  • Acting Captains Matthew T. Ngo and Milton W. Martin are assigned as Night Commanders.
  • Captain Debra J. Watkins will move from South Central Patrol Division to the Uptown Division.
  • Captain Jay L. Jones will move from Night Commander to South Central Division.

AW/ NJM 8-23-06

For additional information, please contact the HPD Public Affairs Division a 713-308-3200.