HPD Reminds Motorists to Move Over or Slow Down
July 7, 2010 - Starting Monday (June July 12) through Sunday (July 18), officers from the Houston Police Department’s Traffic Enforcement Division will be actively educating motorists about Texas Transportation Code Section 545.157 “Passing Authorized Emergency Vehicle,” otherwise known as the “Move Over or Slow Down” law.
From Monday (July 19) through Sunday (July 25), HPD officers will be actively enforcing the “Move Over or Slow Down” law and citations will be issued.
Under Texas law, motorists approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with its signals (emergency lights) on are required to either vacate the lane closest to the emergency vehicle (if a lane is available) or slow to a speed no more than 20 miles per hour below the posted speed limit. When the posted speed limit is 25 miles per hour or less, the driver must slow down to five miles per hour.
“Many motorists are unfamiliar with this law and we need to educate them,” said Lieutenant Mike Hoesel of the HPD Traffic Enforcement Division. “It is imperative motorists understand this law and what it means for officer safety,” he added.
A violation of the “Passing Authorized Emergency Vehicle” law is considered a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a $1 to $200 fine or a Class B misdemeanor if someone is injured.
Any media requesting a ride-along on this education initiative should contact the Public Affairs Office at 713-308-3280.
For additional information, please contact the HPD Public Affairs Division at 713-308-3200.