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Company
§46-6 and §46-7: 
Fingerprint 
background check 
(includes warrant 
check)

Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required

§46-6:   Driver Drug 
test

Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required

§46-6:   Driver 
Physical

Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required

§46-15.1:  Driver 
Training

Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required

Vehicle Inspections Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required

§46-11:  Data 
submission

Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required

§46-3:   Proof of 
rendition for ad 
valorem taxes

Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required

Place of business in 
the greater 
metropolitan area

Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required Required

Permittee Payment 
of fees to the City 
(all Fees listed in 
the City Fee 
Schedule) - ADMIN 
FEE NOT SUBJECT 
TO REFUND

Currently $535.25 plus 
$26.75 admin fee = 
$562.00 per vehicle 

subject to refund if > 2% 
of gross receipts

Currently $535.25 plus 
$26.75 admin fee plus 
$53.52 inspection fee 

plus $26.75 admin fee = 
$638.28 per vehicle 

subject to refund if > 2% 
of gross receipts

Currently $535.25 plus 
$26.75 admin fee = 
$562.00 per vehicle 

subject to refund if > 2% 
of gross receipts

Currently $214.10 plus 
$26.75 admin fee = 
$240.85 per vehicle 

subject to refund if > 2% 
of gross receipts

Currently $535.25 plus 
$26.75 admin fee plus 
$53.52 inspection fee 

plus $26.75 admin fee = 
$638.28 per vehicle 

subject to refund if > 2% 
of gross receipts

Currently $214.10 plus 
$26.75 admin fee plus 
$53.52 inspection fee 

plus $26.75 admin fee = 
$321.12 per vehicle 

subject to refund if > 2% 
of gross receipts

Currently $535.25 plus 
$26.75 admin fee plus 
$53.52 inspection fee 

plus $26.75 admin fee = 
$638.28 per vehicle 

subject to refund if > 2% 
of gross receipts

Fee is paid by the 
qualified vehicle for hire 

permittee
2% of gross receipts

COMPARISON OF PUBLIC SAFETY  & GENERAL OPERATING REQUIREMENTS ACROSS VEHICLE FOR HIRE CATEGORIES
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Insurance

§46-67: Commercial 
automobile liability 

insurance with no less 
than the minimum 
coverage amounts 

required in the Texas 
Motor Vehicle Safety 

Responsibility Act

§46-238: Commercial 
automobile liability 

insurance with limits of 
not less than $1,000,000 

combined single limit 
per accident

§46-207:  Commercial 
automobile liability 

insurance meeting all 
requirements of Chapter 

643 of the Texas 
Transportation Code

§46-292:  Commercial 
automobile liability 

insurance meeting all 
requirements of Chapter 

643 of the Texas 
Transportation Code

§46-338: Commercial 
automobile liability 

insurance with limits of 
not less than $1,000,000 

combined single limit 
per accident

§46-176: Commercial 
general liability 

insurance with not less 
than a $1,000,000 12-
month aggregate and 

$1,000,000 per 
occurrence.

§46-398: Commercial 
auto liability coverage in 
an amount not less than 

$500,000 combined 
single limit per 

occurrence

Insurance is held by the 
qualified vehicle for hire 

permittee.

§46-508: 1) Commercial 
automobile liability 

insurance with a 
combined single limit for 

bodily injury and 
property damage of 

$1,000,000 per accident 
from any 

occurrence...from the 
time a driver accepts the 

trip through trip 
completion.

2) Commercial 
automobile liabilty 

insurance coverage in no 
less than the minimum 

coverage amounts 
specified in the Texas 
Motor Vehicle Safety 

Responsibility Act when 
the driver is logged in but 

not providing service.
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Wheelchair 
Accessible Vehicles - 

Vehicle Age

§46-11.6: 
Notwithstanding the 

vehicle age limitations 
prescribed in this 

chapter, a permittee 
operating a wheelchair 

accessible vehicle 
pursuant to a valid 

permit may operate the 
wheelchair accessible 

vehicle beyond the 
applicable age 

limitations…provided 
the permittee submits 

the vehicle for 
inspection at an 

authorized location prior 
to expiration of the 

permit 

§46-11.6: 
Notwithstanding the 

vehicle age limitations 
prescribed in this 

chapter, a permittee 
operating a wheelchair 

accessible vehicle 
pursuant to a valid 

permit may operate the 
wheelchair accessible 

vehicle beyond the 
applicable age 

limitations…provided 
the permittee submits 

the vehicle for 
inspection at an 

authorized location prior 
to expiration of the 

permit 

No age limitation for any 
charter sightseeing 

vehicles

No age limitation for any 
school vehicles

§46-11.6: 
Notwithstanding the 

vehicle age limitations 
prescribed in this 

chapter, a permittee 
operating a wheelchair 

accessible vehicle 
pursuant to a valid 

permit may operate the 
wheelchair accessible 

vehicle beyond the 
applicable age 

limitations…provided 
the permittee submits 

the vehicle for 
inspection at an 

authorized location prior 
to expiration of the 

permit 

No age limitation for any 
pedicabs

§46-11.6: 
Notwithstanding the 

vehicle age limitations 
prescribed in this 

chapter, a permittee 
operating a wheelchair 

accessible vehicle 
pursuant to a valid 

permit may operate the 
wheelchair accessible 

vehicle beyond the 
applicable age 

limitations…provided 
the permittee submits 

the vehicle for 
inspection at an 

authorized location prior 
to expiration of the 

permit 

§46-11.6: 
Notwithstanding the 

vehicle age limitations 
prescribed in this 

chapter, a permittee 
operating a wheelchair 

accessible vehicle 
pursuant to a valid 

permit may operate the 
wheelchair accessible 

vehicle beyond the 
applicable age 

limitations…provided 
the permittee submits 

the vehicle for 
inspection at an 

authorized location prior 
to expiration of the 

permit 

§46-11.6: 
Notwithstanding the 

vehicle age limitations 
prescribed in this 

chapter, a permittee 
operating a wheelchair 

accessible vehicle 
pursuant to a valid 

permit may operate the 
wheelchair accessible 

vehicle beyond the 
applicable age 

limitations…provided the 
permittee submits the 

vehicle for inspection at 
an authorized location 

prior to expiration of the 
permit 

Requirement for 
Wheelchair 
Accessible Vehicles 
(WAVs) & §46-2  
Anti-discrimination 
language

§46-18 and §46-64:  1) 
No requirement to 

purchase WAVs
2) Prohibited to 

discriminate against 
passengers with 

disabilities
3) Replacement vehicles 
coming online must be 

one of four options 
including WAV                                                                                                                                                            

4) at time of permit 
computation, if WAVs 
comprise <2% of taxi 
fleet, City shall issue 

new WAV taxi permits 

1) No requirement to 
purchase WAVs
2) Prohibited to 

discriminate against 
passengers with 

disabilities

1) No requirement to 
purchase WAVs
2) Prohibited to 

discriminate against 
passengers with 

disabilities

1) No requirement to 
purchase WAVs
2) Prohibited to 

discriminate against 
passengers with 

disabilities

1) No requirement to 
purchase WAVs
2) Prohibited to 

discriminate against 
passengers with 

disabilities

1) No requirement to 
purchase WAVs
2) Prohibited to 

discriminate against 
passengers with 

disabilities

1) No requirement to 
purchase WAVs
2) Prohibited to 

discriminate against 
passengers with 

disabilities

1) No requirement to 
purchase WAVs
2) Prohibited to 

discriminate against 
passengers with 

disabilities

1) No requirement to 
purchase WAVs
2) Prohibited to 

discriminate against 
passengers with 

disabilities
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Wheelchair 
Accessible Vehicles 
Minimum Fleet 
Requirement

The City is establishing a 
goal that 5% of the fleet 
of vehicles for hire will 

be WAVs within 5 years. 
The City will examine 
financial assistance 

options to assist with 
the retrofit of VFH to 
WAVs. The City will 

establish an accessibility 
task force that will make 
recommendations about 

the appropriate 
allocation of those 
vehicles across the 

vehicle for hire 
categories, as well as the 

demand for WAVs and 
the training curriculum 

for vehicle for hire 
drivers. 

The City is establishing a 
goal that 5% of the fleet 
of vehicles for hire will 

be WAVs within 5 years. 
The City will examine 
financial assistance 

options to assist with 
the retrofit of VFH to 
WAVs. The City will 

establish an accessibility 
task force that will make 
recommendations about 

the appropriate 
allocation of those 
vehicles across the 

vehicle for hire 
categories, as well as the 

demand for WAVs and 
the training curriculum 

for vehicle for hire 
drivers. 

The City is establishing a 
goal that 5% of the fleet 
of vehicles for hire will 

be WAVs within 5 years. 
The City will examine 
financial assistance 

options to assist with 
the retrofit of VFH to 
WAVs. The City will 

establish an accessibility 
task force that will make 
recommendations about 

the appropriate 
allocation of those 
vehicles across the 

vehicle for hire 
categories, as well as the 

demand for WAVs and 
the training curriculum 

for vehicle for hire 
drivers. 

The City is establishing a 
goal that 5% of the fleet 
of vehicles for hire will 

be WAVs within 5 years. 
The City will examine 
financial assistance 

options to assist with 
the retrofit of VFH to 
WAVs. The City will 

establish an accessibility 
task force that will make 
recommendations about 

the appropriate 
allocation of those 
vehicles across the 

vehicle for hire 
categories, as well as the 

demand for WAVs and 
the training curriculum 

for vehicle for hire 
drivers. 

The City is establishing a 
goal that 5% of the fleet 
of vehicles for hire will 

be WAVs within 5 years. 
The City will examine 
financial assistance 

options to assist with the 
retrofit of VFH to WAVs. 
The City will establish an 

accessibility task force 
that will make 

recommendations about 
the appropriate 

allocation of those 
vehicles across the 

vehicle for hire 
categories, as well as the 

demand for WAVs and 
the training curriculum 

for vehicle for hire 
drivers. 

The City is establishing a 
goal that 5% of the fleet 
of vehicles for hire will 

be WAVs within 5 years. 
The City will examine 
financial assistance 

options to assist with the 
retrofit of VFH to WAVs. 
The City will establish an 

accessibility task force 
that will make 

recommendations about 
the appropriate 

allocation of those 
vehicles across the 

vehicle for hire 
categories, as well as the 

demand for WAVs and 
the training curriculum 

for vehicle for hire 
drivers. 

The City is establishing a 
goal that 5% of the fleet 
of vehicles for hire will 

be WAVs within 5 years. 
The City will examine 
financial assistance 

options to assist with the 
retrofit of VFH to WAVs. 
The City will establish an 

accessibility task force 
that will make 

recommendations about 
the appropriate 

allocation of those 
vehicles across the 

vehicle for hire 
categories, as well as the 

demand for WAVs and 
the training curriculum 

for vehicle for hire 
drivers. 

The City is establishing a 
goal that 5% of the fleet 
of vehicles for hire will 

be WAVs within 5 years. 
The City will examine 
financial assistance 

options to assist with the 
retrofit of VFH to WAVs. 
The City will establish an 

accessibility task force 
that will make 

recommendations about 
the appropriate 

allocation of those 
vehicles across the 

vehicle for hire 
categories, as well as the 

demand for WAVs and 
the training curriculum 

for vehicle for hire 
drivers. 

The City is establishing a 
goal that 5% of the fleet 

of vehicles for hire will be 
WAVs within 5 years. The 

City will examine 
financial assistance 

options to assist with the 
retrofit of VFH to WAVs. 
The City will establish an 

accessibility task force 
that will make 

recommendations about 
the appropriate 

allocation of those 
vehicles across the 

vehicle for hire 
categories, as well as the 

demand for WAVs and 
the training curriculum 

for vehicle for hire 
drivers. 

§46-11.2   
Prohibition on 
Driver Cell phone 
use

Prohibited Unless Hands-
Free

Prohibited Unless Hands-
Free

Prohibited Unless Hands-
Free

Prohibited Unless Hands-
Free

Prohibited Unless Hands-
Free

Prohibited Unless Hands-
Free

Prohibited Unless Hands-
Free

Prohibited Unless Hands-
Free

Prohibited Unless Hands-
Free
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Vehicle age limits

§46-20:  6 years with an 
additional 7th year 

permitted if the vehicle 
passes a stringent 3rd 

party inspection

§46-191 and §46-237:  
1) 6 years for a luxury 

sedan
2) 10 years for an 

extended-body type 
motor vehicle

3) 6 years for a SUV
4) 10 years for a 

passenger van; for 
sedans and SUVs, 7th 
year permitted if the 

vehicle passes a 
stringent 3rd party 

inspection

No age limitation No age limitation

§46-353:  10 years with 
an additional 11th year 
permitted if the vehicle 
passes a stringent third 

party inspection

No age limitation §46-424:  6 years
Requirements apply to 

qualified vehicle for hire 
permitted vehicle

§46-513:  No more than 7 
years old or has been 
driven 150,000 actual 

miles, whichever occurs 
first

Limitation on Driver 
Hours

§46-113:  No more than 
12 hours in any 

consecutive 24 hour 
period

§46-208:  No more than 
12 hours in any 

consecutive 24 hour 
period

§46-208:  No more than 
12 hours in any 

consecutive 24 hour 
period

No requirement

§46-354:  No more than 
12 hours in any 

consecutive 24 hour 
period

No requirement

§46-426:  No more than 
12 hours in any 

consecutive 24 hour 
period

Requirements apply to 
qualified vehicle for hire 

licensee

§46-511:  No more than 
12 hours in any 

consecutive 24 hour 
period

Driver Payment of 
License fees to the 
City (all Fees listed 
in the City Fee 
Schedule)

$10.70 $10.70 $10.70 $10.70 $10.70 $10.70 $10.70 $10.70 $10.70 

Company Permit or 
registration?

Permit Permit Permit Permit Permit Permit Permit Registration Permit
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Impoundment & 
Due Process

§46-11.4: The police 
department shall 

remove any vehicle 
from a public street or 

public place when 
probable cause exists to 
believe that the vehicle 
is being operated as a 

VFH without the 
required authorization. 

Upon request for a 
hearing, MCD will 

conduct the hearing as 
soon as practicable, but 
no more than 10 days 

after the request for the 
hearing is received.

§46-11.4: The police 
department shall 

remove any vehicle 
from a public street or 

public place when 
probable cause exists to 
believe that the vehicle 
is being operated as a 

VFH without the 
required authorization. 

Upon request for a 
hearing, MCD will 

conduct the hearing as 
soon as practicable, but 
no more than 10 days 

after the request for the 
hearing is received.

§46-11.4: The police 
department shall 

remove any vehicle 
from a public street or 

public place when 
probable cause exists to 
believe that the vehicle 
is being operated as a 

VFH without the 
required authorization. 

Upon request for a 
hearing, MCD will 

conduct the hearing as 
soon as practicable, but 
no more than 10 days 

after the request for the 
hearing is received.

§46-11.4: The police 
department shall 

remove any vehicle 
from a public street or 

public place when 
probable cause exists to 
believe that the vehicle 
is being operated as a 

VFH without the 
required authorization. 

Upon request for a 
hearing, MCD will 

conduct the hearing as 
soon as practicable, but 
no more than 10 days 

after the request for the 
hearing is received.

§46-11.4: The police 
department shall 

remove any vehicle from 
a public street or public 

place when probable 
cause exists to believe 

that the vehicle is being 
operated as a VFH 

without the required 
authorization. Upon 

request for a hearing, 
MCD will conduct the 

hearing as soon as 
practicable, but no more 

than 10 days after the 
request for the hearing 

is received.

§46-11.4: The police 
department shall 

remove any vehicle from 
a public street or public 

place when probable 
cause exists to believe 

that the vehicle is being 
operated as a VFH 

without the required 
authorization. Upon 

request for a hearing, 
MCD will conduct the 

hearing as soon as 
practicable, but no more 

than 10 days after the 
request for the hearing 

is received.

§46-11.4: The police 
department shall 

remove any vehicle from 
a public street or public 

place when probable 
cause exists to believe 

that the vehicle is being 
operated as a VFH 

without the required 
authorization. Upon 

request for a hearing, 
MCD will conduct the 

hearing as soon as 
practicable, but no more 

than 10 days after the 
request for the hearing 

is received.

§46-11.4: The police 
department shall 

remove any vehicle from 
a public street or public 

place when probable 
cause exists to believe 

that the vehicle is being 
operated as a VFH 

without the required 
authorization. Upon 

request for a hearing, 
MCD will conduct the 

hearing as soon as 
practicable, but no more 

than 10 days after the 
request for the hearing 

is received.

§46-11.4: The police 
department shall remove 
any vehicle from a public 

street or public place 
when probable cause 

exists to believe that the 
vehicle is being operated 

as a VFH without the 
required authorization. 

Upon request for a 
hearing, MCD will 

conduct the hearing as 
soon as practicable, but 
no more than 10 days 

after the request for the 
hearing is received.

Fare certainty for 
customers

§46-31:  May only 
charge prescribed rates

§46-243:  Required to 
file a schedule of fares 

with ARA

§46-209 and §6-210:  
Required to file rates, 
routes and schedules 

with ARA

§46-302:  Required to 
maintain contracts for 

each student, in writing; 
no requirement to file 

contract rates with ARA

§46-340:  Required to 
file a schedule of rates 
and routes with ARA

§46-163:  Required to 
file rate structure and 
fare information with 

ARA

§46-400:  Required to 
file a list of zones and 

corresponding rates with 
ARA

§46-454:  Proposed 
schedule of fares or 

rates; Must display their 
fare rate on their 

website or mobile app 
and provide a fare 

estimator for passengers

§46-509:  Proposed 
schedule of fares or 

rates; Must display their 
fare rate on their website 

or mobile app and 
provide a fare estimator 

for passengers
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