CitizensNet Banner

November 24, 2015

Citizens Invited to 2nd HPD Meeting on New Open Carry Law

With the new Texas Open Carry law going into effect on January 1, 2016, the Houston Police Department is hosting a second informational meeting to answer citizen questions on what to do if they see individuals displaying weapons in public places.

The meeting will be held on Wednesday, December 9, 2015, from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the High School for Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice at 4701 Dickson Street, 77007.  Free parking is available.

HPD Chief Charles A. McClelland, Jr. will be joined by Tracy Calabrese with the City Attorney's Office and Harris County District Attorney Devon Anderson in a panel discussion about the new law and the challenges police officers will have in responding to citizen calls involving an individual publicly displaying a weapon.

The Open Carry law will allow a license holder to "open carry" a holstered handgun.

HPD will live-stream the meeting on the HPD YouTube channel. 

For more information, contact the HPD Public Affairs Office at 713-308-3200 or go to the HPD website to view and print a flyer on the meeting at

Register for CitizensNet

Add to your address book to ensure proper delivery of CitizensNet emails and to prevent spam filters from blocking the emails. Follow these instructions.

Change your email address or Update your record

View CitizensNet Archive

Go to for information about City of Houston activities/events.

Fan Us, Mayor's Facebook Fan Us, Mayor's FacebookFollow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TwitterWatch us On YouTube Watch Us on YouTube

Disclaimer: All information, excluding your email address, is generally subject to public disclosure
under the Texas Public Information Act (See Chapter 552 of the Texas Government Code).

Thank you for your interest in CitizensNet.
Mailing Address:  City of Houston | P.O. Box 1562 | Houston, Texas 77251
City Hall Address:  City of Houston | 901 Bagby | Houston, Texas 77002

Unsubscribe from CitizensNet

Council Members: Brenda Stardig • Jerry Davis • Ellen R. Cohen • Dwight A. Boykins • Dave Martin •
Richard Nguyen • Oliver Pennington • Edward Gonzalez • Robert Gallegos •
Mike Laster • Larry V. Green • Stephen C. Costello • David W. Robinson •
Michael Kubosh • C.O. “Brad” Bradford • Jack Christie
Controller: Ronald C. Green