City of Houston Main Graphic
Return to Home Page En Español Links Visitors Links Departments and Directors Links Business Links Residents Links Government Links I Want To Links Rotating Photo Gallery


CitizensNet Banner

May 14, 2015

RAILFEST 2015 Kicks Off Opening of METRO's Two New Light Rail Lines
Free Ne-Yo Concert at BBVA Compass Stadium

RAILFEST 2015 will kick off the opening of two new light rail lines on Saturday, May 23, 2015. METRO will provide FREE light rail rides all day, and there will be a FREE concert sponsored by Parsons and Houston Rapid Transit. RAILFEST 2015, in partnership with the Mayor's Office of Special Events, BBVA Compass Stadium and CBS Radio, will celebrate METRO's Connecting Communities initiative with a showcase of the city's finest attributes including inaugural rides on the new rail lines, live music, family fun activities and a spectacular fireworks show.

GRAMMY Award-winning singer, songwriter and producer NE-YO will headline RAILFEST 2015 at the BBVA Compass Stadium. Also performing is GRAMMY nominated, multi-platinum recording artist Frankie J, and rounding off the entertainment line-up is the Ernest Walker Band, Zenteno Spirit, Mario Havikoro Dancers and Herman Charles Dancers. A fireworks finale will conclude this grand occasion.

SATURDAY, MAY 23, 2015 from 3-9 p.m.

Ribbon Cuttings at Rail Line Stations

  • 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. Purple, Green, Downtown Lines Inaugural Ride and Community Celebrations begin
  • Palm Center, 5330 Griggs Rd. - Ribbon Cutting
  • East End, 4516 Harrisburg Boulevard - Ribbon Cutting
  • Theater District, 800 Bagby St. - Ribbon Cutting

Free Concert at BBVA Compass Stadium
2200 Texas Ave, Houston, TX 77003

  • 5:00 p.m.  Community Rally Finale and Daytime Fireworks
  • 5:30 p.m.  Concert Entertainment begins with Ernest Walker Band, Zenteno Spirit, Mario Havikoro Dancers and Herman Charles Dancers
  • 7:00 p.m.  Frankie J
  • 8:00 p.m.  NE-YO
  • 8:45 p.m.  Fireworks Finale

Times are subject to change.



RailFest Graphic

Register for CitizensNet

Add to your address book to ensure proper delivery of CitizensNet emails and to prevent spam filters from blocking the emails. Follow these instructions.

Change your email address or Update your record

View CitizensNet Archive

Go to for information about City of Houston activities/events.

Fan Us, Mayor's Facebook Fan Us, Mayor's FacebookFollow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TwitterWatch us On YouTube Watch Us on YouTube

Disclaimer: All information, excluding your email address, is generally subject to public disclosure
under the Texas Public Information Act (See Chapter 552 of the Texas Government Code).

Thank you for your interest in CitizensNet.
Mailing Address:  City of Houston | P.O. Box 1562 | Houston, Texas 77251
City Hall Address:  City of Houston | 901 Bagby | Houston, Texas 77002

Unsubscribe from CitizensNet

Council Members: Brenda Stardig • Jerry Davis • Ellen R. Cohen • Dwight A. Boykins • Dave Martin •
Richard Nguyen • Oliver Pennington • Edward Gonzalez • Robert Gallegos •
Mike Laster • Larry V. Green • Stephen C. Costello • David W. Robinson •
Michael Kubosh • C.O. “Brad” Bradford • Jack Christie
Controller: Ronald C. Green