

City of Houston Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee Council Member Abbie Kamin, Chair

Committee Members

Council Member Mike Knox, Vice Chair Council Member Amy Peck Council Member Tarsha Jackson Council Member Tiffany Thomas

Council Member Mary Nan Huffman Council Member Karla Cisneros Council Member Edward Pollard

Notice of City Council Committee Meeting Thursday, September 21, 2023 2:00 P.M.

Due to health and safety concerns related to COVID-19, this meeting will offer the option to participate by videoconference or in-person. The committee meeting will be held in City Hall Council Chamber, 901 Bagby, 2nd Floor, Houston, Texas 77002. The meeting is open to the public but restrictions regarding masks, allowable room capacity, and seating arrangements may be in place.

The public may sign up to speak by visiting the <u>Public Safety & Homeland Security Committee website</u>. Sign up must be done no later than 5:00 p.m. Wednesday, September 20, 2023. Please indicate whether you will speak virtually or will be attending in person so that appropriate attendance instructions can be provided.

The designated presiding officer of the Committee will be physically present in chamber. In accordance with the provisions of Section 551.127 of the Texas Government Code applicable to a governmental body that extends into three or more counties, all other committee members have the option to participate in-person or virtually via Microsoft Teams.

Microsoft Teams Live Meeting

To join, type this link into your browser: <u>https://bit.ly/PSHS09212023</u>

Presentation materials will be available at https://www.houstontx.gov/council/committees/publicsafety.html This meeting will also be broadcast on HTV, the City of Houston's Municipal Channel.

- 1. HFD Recruitment and Cadet Training Update
 - Assistant Fire Chiefs Michael Zapata and Shelby Walker
- 2. HPD 4-Year Report Summary and Updates to Motor Vehicle Pursuit Policy
 - HPD Chief Troy Finner
- 3. HPD Dashboard Cameras Procurement Update
 - Assistant Chief Milton Martin, Acting Deputy Director of Technology Services Viet Dang, and Police Administrator Frank Rodriguez

Action may be taken on any item listed above. Committee meetings are open to the public. For more information about this committee, please contact Yucari.Ramirez-Menera@houstontx.gov.

Public Comment – To sign up for Public Comment, please fill out the online form at <u>https://bit.ly/PSHSSpeakers</u> before 5:00 p.m. on September 20, 2023. Only those who sign up in advance will be able to provide public comments either virtually or in-person during the meeting.