Houston Police Dept. Environmental Investigations Unit

Illegal Dumping in Houston, Texas
Houston taxpayers pay the cost of cleaning up dumps on public and private land...
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» Texas Health and Sefety Code, §365.

» Solid waste weighing more than five pounds
but less than 500 pounds or having a volume
of more than five gallons but less than 100
cubic feet,

 Jail up to 180 days and a fine of up to $2.000.

Illegal Dumping Class C

» Texas Health and Safety Code, §365.

* Solid waste weighing five pounds or less
o having a volume of five gallons or less.

* Fine of up to $500.

* Texas Health and Safety Code, §365.

* Solid waste weighing 500 pounds or more
but less than 1,000 pounds or having a volume
of 100 cubic feet or more but less than 200
cubic feet.

* Jail up to one year and a fine of up to $4,000.

* Second conviction state jail felony 180 days up
to two years confinement and up to $10,000 fine.

* Corporation up to $20,000 fine,
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= Texas Health and Safety Code, §365.

* An offense is a Class A Misdemeanor if
the solid waste is disposed of for a
commercial purpose and weighs more than
five pounds but less than 200 pounds or
has a volume of more than five gallons but
less than 200 cubic feet.

Battery Dumping

* Texas Health and Safety Code, §7.185.

e Class A Misdemeanor if a person knowingly
disposes of or discards a lead-acid battery
except at an authorized collection or recycling
business or facility.

¢ Bach battery and each day is separate
offense. Jail up to one year and a fine up
to $4,000.

tate Jail Felony

Texas Health and Safety Code, §365.

Solid waste weighing 1,000 pounds or more
or having a volume of 200 cubic feet or more.

Contained in a closed barrel or drum.

State jail felony 180 days up to two years
confinement and up to $10,000 fine.

Corporation up to $20.000 fine.
Upon second conviction, charges enhanced

to a 3rd degree felony with penalty 2-10 years
confinement and up to $10,000 fine.

» Confinement of up to one year and up to
$4.000 fine.

» State Jail Felony Commercial Dumping
200 pounds or more or a volume of 200
cubic feet or more.

o State Jail Felony 180 days up to two years
confinement and up to $10,000 fine.

o Corporation up to $20,000 fine.

= Upon second conviction, charges enhanced
to a 3rd degree felony with penalty 2-10 years
confinement and up to $10.,000 fine.

*NOTE: Upon third conviction on all levels
of illegal dumping, forfeiture of the vehicle

or machinery used in the commission of the
offense.

To Report Illegal Dumping call 713-525-2728

Radioactive Waste

Texas Water Code, §7.184. s

A person intentionally or knowingly receives,
processes, stores, transports or disposes of
radioactive waste without a license.

Class A Misdemeanor - Up to one year in
jail, and up to a $4,000 fine.

» Texas Water Code, §7.177.

* A person intentionally or knowingly violates
an order, permit, exemption, or rule adoi)ted
by the Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality (TCEQ), including the rule against
causing a nuisance, and the rule prohibiting
outdoor burning.

* Individuals - up to 180 days in jail,and a
$1,000 to §50,000 fine.

* Corporations - $1,000 to $100,000 fine.

* Individuals - up to 10 years in jail, and a
$1.,000 to $50,000 fine.

* Corporations - $1,000 to $250,000 fine.

Texas Water Code, §7.162.

A person intentionally or knowingly
transports, stores, or disposes of any
hazardous waste, without a manifest or
without all required permits.




Used Oil Dumping

Texas Water Code, §7.176.

A person intentionally discharges used oil
or knowingly disposes of or otherwise
handles any used oil within the State of
Texas in violation of the rules for used oil.

Each day is a separate violation. Fine of not |1 SSESSSEEE SRR SRR }
less than $1.000 or more than $50,000 and '
imprisonment in the Texas Department of
Corrections not to exceed five years.

Water Pollution - Felony
e Texas Water Code, §7.145.

= A person intentionally or knowingly
discharges or permits the discharge of a
waste or pollutant into or adjacent to water
in the state that causes or threatens to cause
water pollution without strict compliance
with all required permits or other
authorization. Texas courts have ruled water
of the state to include drainage ditches, sewer
systems, and natural rainwater run-off
pathways. « Strict liability release into waters of the state.

‘Water Pollution - Special Misdemeanor

= Penalty for individual is up to one year
confinement and $1.000 up to $50,000 per
day of violation.

* Each day is a separate violation.

s Felony up to five years in the Texas
Department of Criminal Justice and/or
$1,000 to $100,000 fine.

¢ Endangerment Offense - Imprisonment up
to ten years and fine up to $500.,000.

= Corporation (Felony) - $1,000 to
$250,000 fine.

To Report Illegal Dumping call 713-525-2728

= Penalty for corporation is $1,000 up to
$100,000 per day of violation.

Bio-Medical Waste Dumping

s Texas Water Code, §7.164 and §7.165.

¢ A person intentionally or knowingly generates, collects,
stores, or disposes of medical waste without all required
permits or in violation of a permit.

e Individuals - up to 10 years in jail, and a $1,000 to
$50,000 fine.

» Corporations - $1,000 to $50,000 fine.

s Texas Water Code, §7.166.

* A person intentionally or knowingly transports medical
waste without a manifest or to a location that does not
have all required permits.

¢ Individuals - up to one year in jail, and a $1,000 to
$50.,000 fine.

¢ Corporations - $2,000 to $500,000 fine.

Environmental Investigations Unit

Houston Police Department
Major Offenders Division
7125 Ardmore, Ste. 400
Houston, Texas 77054
(713)525-2728

Environmental
Investigation Unit

Illegal Dumping in
Houston, Texas
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Houston taxpayers pay the cost of
cleaning up dumps on public
and private land...



