District C

Mayor Pro-Tem Ellen R. Cohen

The Annual District C Public Meeting will take place on Wednesday, March 21st at 6:30PM at The Council on Recovery, 303 Jackson Hill St, Houston, 77007.

Our annual meeting typically focuses on the Capital Improvement Plan (CIP), the City's master document that prioritizes infrastructure projects over the next five years. However, the Public Works Department has announced that, due to Hurricane Harvey's extensive toll on our city's infrastructure and budget, this year, our District-wide meeting will focus on the impacts of Hurricane Harvey and what it means for District C.

Information tables will be set up and experts will be available before and after the meeting to answer specific questions and provide resources. For those unable to attend, the meeting will be archived online via HTV.


Council Member Ellen Cohen Ellen Cohen has lived and worked in the city of Houston for the past 40 years. She served for 10 years as the Executive Director of the American Jewish Committee, and for 18 years as the CEO of the Houston Area Women’s Center, working with survivors of sexual and domestic violence. In 2006, she was elected as the Texas State Representative for Houston’s District 134. After serving two terms in the Texas Legislature, Ellen decided to continue her public service career at home. She ran for Houston City Council, and was sworn into office in January 2012 as the Council Member representing District C. In 2016, she was named by Mayor Turner and elected by her fellow Council Members as Mayor Pro Tem for the City of Houston. She is currently serving her third term on Council.

During her tenure on Council, Mayor Pro Tem Cohen has championed the Houston Equal Rights Ordinance, the elimination of the sexual assault kit backlog, the historic Pension Reform Package agreement, and many other initiatives to improve the quality of life of her constituents.

About the District
District C is a dynamic, neighborhood-centric community located just west of downtown. Its primary neighborhoods include (from north to south):

  • Oak Forest
  • Garden Oaks
  • Lazybrook
  • Timbergrove
  • The Heights
  • The Washington Corridor
  • Freedmen’s Town
  • Montrose
  • Midtown (half)
  • Upper Kirby
  • University Place
  • Braeswood Place
  • Meyerland