Walkable Places Committee

Walkable Places

Mayor Sylvester Turner stated, “Houston is growing in record numbers. More than ever, our citizens want walkable places that connect to parks and activity centers. Our city needs to grow and develop responsibly and efficiently, under the guidance of the Code of Ordinances.”

About the Committee

The committee will consider issues and potential revisions to Chapter 26 and 42 related to planning environments that facilitate walking, and create amenities for the public.

A number of areas in Houston are attracting higher density commercial, office, and multifamily residential developments. These developments present an opportunity to create more vibrant, walkable streets that support alternative modes of transportation. The City’s development ordinances should maximize these opportunities. The Walkable Places Committee will explore how these ordinances should be amended to achieve this objective.

Current Committee Members

  • Mark Kilkenny, Chair
  • Bill Baldwin, Vice Chair
  • Fernando Brave
  • Susan Alleman
  • Sheri Smith, Ph.D.
  • Truman Edminster
  • Bradley Pepper
  • Ron Lindsey
  • Josh Sanders
  • Phillip Morgan
  • John Mooz
  • Shaun Thomsen
  • George Levan
  • Abbey Roberson
  • Isabel Longria
  • Bolivar Fraga
  • Diane Schenke
  • Michelle Ashton
  • Irma Sanchez
  • David Kim
  • Diana Pheifer
  • Greg LeGrande
  • Jane West

Committee Documents

February 8, 2017

January 11, 2017

Video Replay

Public Comment Form

Submit your comments on our online comment form

Back to Top back