HPD Officers Honored by State of Texas

June 7, 2010 - The State of Texas on Friday (June 4) honored eight HPD officers who received the 2009 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement awards, along with 15 other law enforcement officers from across the state in a ceremony at the State Capitol building in Austin, Texas. 

Officer Bryon D. Vecera, sworn in as an officer in December 1990, is assigned to the Traffic Enforcement Division and, is one of the original 40 officers recruited to the Truck Enforcement Unit.  Officer Vecera received the Professional Achievement award. 

Officers Guadalupe N. Duron Jr. and Jason M. Turrentine, sworn in as officers in May 2001 and assigned to the Northeast Patrol Division, and Senior Police Officer Norbert A. Preciado, sworn in as an officer in November 1983, and assigned to the Westside Patrol Division, received the Public Service Award. 

Officers Corey J. Frank and James K. Englehardt, sworn in as officers in April 1983 and August 1992 respectively, and assigned to the Air Support Division, Officer Matthew J. Marin, sworn in as an officer in September 2007, assigned to the Eastside Patrol Division, and Officer Chudy P. Onwuka, sworn in as an officer in November 2007, assigned to the Southwest Patrol Division received the Valor Award.   

Photos of Officers Duron, Frank, Onwuka, Preciado, Turrentine and Vecera are attached to this news release.

Houston Police Chief Charles A. McClelland, Jr. said, “These officers exemplify what the Houston Police Department stands for.”  “I am proud of their dedication, commitment and efforts to protect the lives of the public and keep our city safe,” added Chief McClelland. 

For additional information, please contact the HPD Public Affairs Division at 713-308-3200.

HPD Officers Honored by State of Texas