HR One banner blue

COH Holidays


The city grants employees the following paid holidays each year:

2024 Holiday Schedule

  • New Year’s Day - Monday, January 1
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Monday, January 15
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 27
  • Juneteenth Day - Wednesday June 19
  • Independence Day - Thursday, July 4
  • Labor Day - Monday, September 2
  • Veterans Day - Monday, November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, November 28
  • Day After Thanksgiving - Friday, November 29
  • Christmas Eve - Tuesday, December 24
  • Christmas Day - Wednesday, December 25

2025 Holiday Schedule

  • New Year’s Day - Wednesday, January 1
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Monday, January 20
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 26
  • Juneteenth Day - Thursday June 19
  • Independence Day - Friday, July 4
  • Labor Day - Monday, September 1
  • Veterans Day - Tuesday, November 11
  • Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, November 27
  • Day After Thanksgiving - Friday, November 28
  • Christmas Eve - Wednesday, December 24
  • Christmas Day - Thursday, December 25

Plus one (1) floating holiday granted for Municipal and Classified Police employees and one (1) floating holiday granted for Fire Fighters designated as the "September 11th" Floating Holiday according to guidelines established and administered by the Administration for each calendar year.

The floating holiday for any year is not available to employees hired on or after July 1st. Those employees will be eligible for floating holidays in subsequent years. The floating holiday must be used by Dec. 31 of each year.



Department Information

611 Walker, 4th Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Safety Hotline: 832-393-7233 careers@houstontx.gov